My evening skincare routine

I feel quite strongly about always properly cleansing and treating my skin in the evenings, as its taken me a long time to get to the point where I’m happy and confident with it (I’ve recently been discharged from my dermatologist – a potential post if anyone would be interested?).

First, if I’m wearing makeup I remove it with The Body Shop cleansing oil – I absolutely love this, it destroys any trace of makeup, waterproof mascara included, without the need for rubbing. I use a pump on each eye, and gently massage it in (no cotton pad required!), before splashing it off with warm water. My only warning is don’t open your eyes whilst using this, as it will make your vision really blurry!

Next, I cleanse my skin with Oskia Renaissance Cleansing Gel, which not only smells incredible, but never leaves my skin feeling tight afterwards. I massage 1-2 pumps in, before leaving it on whilst I brush my teeth. I like to remove it by using a flannel soaked in hot water, before rinsing the flannel and repeating. I can’t stress the importance of using a clean flannel each night, as a damp flannel can easily become a breeding ground for bacteria, which can cause breakouts. I don’t try my face with a hand towel for the same reason.

The next step is acid toning (not as scary as it sounds I promise), using either Pixi Glow Tonic, or FAB Facial Radiance Pads. I prefer using a chemical exfoliant to a physical, because I personally think it does a much more even job of sloughing off dead skin cells, and doesn’t irritate my skin like a grainy scrub does.

I then move on to serum and moisturiser. I love Sunday Riley Good Genes for serum, and then I follow up with either Sunday Riley Luna oilGlamglow ThirstyMud, or Clarins Hydraquench cream, depending on how dry my skin feels, and whether I have any spots. I love Luna oil because it has retinol in it, and is a milder, topical form of the medication I was prescribed by my dermatologist (I’ve taken a course of Roaccutane). To finish off, I slather on a load of hand cream and lip balm – I’m currently loving this one from Jouer.

This takes me no more than 5 minutes total, and the results are 100% worth it. I really notice the difference in my skin if I skip it. I know the products I use are very pricey, but I like to think of my skin as an investment, and having good skin makes me feel so much more confident, that for me it’s worth it. Unfortunately I do also believe that you get what you pay for when it comes to skincare, especially with serums and products with ‘active ingredients’ such as retinol.

I hope you enjoyed the post, and have a great day!

7 thoughts on “My evening skincare routine

  1. Oh girl I feel you! Having problem skin is the absolute worst. Some of my skincare is on the pricier side but I remember thinking I would pay anything for my skin to be clear when it was at its worst. Like you say, a real investment. Another great post ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much my lovely! I definitely now spend less on foundation etc, so thats how I justify it to myself ahaha. Its amazing how much of a difference being confident about your skin can make as well – I’m so much more likely to have a no-makeup day now xxx

      Like

      1. That’s exactly it! I make the same justification haha! It really does change you and give you so much confidence – never ever take clear skin for granted ever again! Oh god tell me about it! Viscous circle aswell 🙊 xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

